Research & Innovation

Teagasc Gold Medal For 2017 Awarded to Connie Conway

 Breaking News

Teagasc Gold Medal For 2017 Awarded to Connie Conway

Teagasc Gold Medal For 2017 Awarded to Connie Conway
March 13
09:19 2018

The 2017 winner of the Teagasc Gold Medal is Connie Conway (pictured left). The Teagasc Gold Medal is awarded on an annual basis to a member of staff who has made an exceptional contribution to Teagasc and to the agriculture and food sectors. Connie is the Administrative Officer for the Teagasc Crops, Environment and Land Use Research Programme.

In presenting the medal, Teagasc Chairman Dr Noel Cawley (pictured right) said: “Connie Conway was awarded the Teagasc Gold Medal for her unparalleled service to the organisation in an administration role; a role that has been characterised by honest effort, flexibility, teamwork  and a tremendous desire to support the organisation  in carrying out its remit. She is a very worthy recipient of the Teagasc Gold medal.”

A native of County Laois, Connie started work in An Foras Taluntais (AFT) at Oak Park in 1973, and is currently the longest serving member of staff in Teagasc Oak Park. In that period she has supported three Heads of Centre and two Heads of Programme.  Connie has led the administration team at Oak Park for 15 years and has been integral to the running of the Crops Research Centre over that period as Administrative Officer.

Her management of the Oak Park budgets has been excellent with estimates typically within 1% of target at each year-end.  While Connie’s financial management prowess is a key part of her role, it is the broader aspects of her role which she has developed that make her contribution so effective. Her management of the physical resources at Oak Park, including building project management and site upgrading and maintenance, has proven a valuable asset to the centre. Her organisational abilities are legendary, she provides support to all Oak Park and other CELUP events, and has been involved in the organisation of every Teagasc National Tillage Conference since its inception in 1985. She mentors and supports newly appointed Centre administrators at other Teagasc sites, as well as taking on central administration tasks in Head Office when requested.

Accepting the Gold Medal award, Connie Conway acknowledged the support she receives from her colleagues: “I am honoured and privileged to accept this award and I acknowledge and thank all the team I work with in Oak Park and in other Teagasc centres: the administrative, farm, technical, research and advisory colleagues and our team of Walsh Fellows who all work together to ensure the smooth running of the research programme.”

The Teagasc Authority also recognised the momentous contributions of John O’Connor, Technician at Teagasc Kildalton College, and Vincent O’Sullivan, ICT Applications Analyst based in Teagasc Head Office in Carlow. Both of whom have made enormous contributions in their respective fields to the organisation during their professional careers. The Teagasc Chairman presented John and Vincent with Silver Medals.

The Teagasc Gold Medal is recognition for advancing the work of Teagasc and is aimed at encouraging high performance and promoting excellence. Previous distinguished winners of the Teagasc Gold Medal are: Professor Liam Donnelly, Dr Paul Cusack, Nuala King, Professor Paul Ross, Dr Lance O’Brien, Christy Watson, Professor Tim Guinea, Dr Padraig O’Kiely and Billy Kellegher.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/researchandinnov/public_html/wp-content/themes/legatus-theme/includes/single/post-tags.php on line 5

About Author



Related Articles

Upcoming Events


The Magazine