Research & Innovation

TU Dublin and Intel Announce 5-Year Strategic Partnership

 Breaking News

TU Dublin and Intel Announce 5-Year Strategic Partnership

TU Dublin and Intel Announce 5-Year Strategic Partnership
February 25
09:13 2019

Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin) has announced a five-year strategic partnership with Intel Ireland as part of a far-reaching programme of collaboration in future talent development, research and engagement. The partnership is in support of the TU Dublin capital campaign Transforming Tomorrow.

The announcement was made at a ‘Celebration of Creativity, Technology and Talent’ on the Grangegorman Campus which was attended by Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe TD and Minister of State for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor TD. The programme included the inaugural lecture in the ‘Intel Thought Leadership Series’ which was delivered by Eamonn Sinnott, General Manager, Intel Ireland, and Vice President, Technology & Manufacturing Group.

Building on a Memorandum of Understanding signed in September 2017; the multi-year partnership will focus on a number of elements including the opening of the Intel Auditorium – a 250-seater lecture theatre located in the Central Quad in the TU Dublin flagship campus at Grangegorman – in September 2020.  The partnership will also fund talent development activities such as the Intel Awards Programme which provides scholarships to TU Dublin students in the disciplines of Mechanical, Design, Electrical and Electronic Engineering. In addition, the Intel ‘Women in Technology’ Scholarship is awarded to a female TU Dublin student ambassador who will work to encourage younger women to pursue a career in Science and Technology.

In celebration of the partnership, Eamonn Sinnott’s lecture aimed to inspire a new generation of leaders and innovators. Speaking to an audience of TU Dublin students and staff, and Intel staff including TU Dublin alumni, Mr. Sinnott said: “We are excited to embark upon this new strategic relationship and are proud to be among the first industry partners of the newly established TU Dublin. This year Intel celebrates 30 years of operations in Ireland and central to our continued success has been a vibrant education system that has produced world-class graduates.

“The nature of the advanced manufacturing that we do here in Ireland means that we rely upon a diverse range of skillsets that encompass the whole breadth of third level programmes from Level 6 onwards. Through this partnership with TU Dublin, we can explore ways to work across that spectrum of learning, all under one academic roof. In particular, the focus of technological universities on science and technology programmes that deliver practical, industry-orientated experiences is vitally important.”

Welcoming the announcement, TU Dublin President, Professor David FitzPatrick said: “The formation of TU Dublin on January 1st not only represents a once in a generation change in the provision of Higher Education in Ireland but also paves the way for a radical shift in how we engage with enterprise and industry. Just as Intel has grown in Ireland over the last 30 years, so also has technological education flourished, preparing students for exciting careers in businesses across the globe.  TU Dublin, as Ireland’s first Technological University, is proud to partner with Intel, which not only employs many of our graduates but also values our ethos of practice-based education and the many pathways to graduation we offer, from Apprenticeship to PhD.”

Concluding the event, Margaret Loughman, Engineering Manager at Intel, presented the Intel Ireland Scholarship recipients with their awards. The awardees were as follows:

Electrical and Electronic Engineering Scholars:

David Hurley

Muharram Bensaad

Viswanada Kaniappa Naicken

Mechanical and Design Engineering Scholars:

Bryan Whelan

Mark Marca

Sally Al Mashadani

Women in Technology Scholar:

Emma Murphy


Professor David FitzPatrick (TU Dublin), Margaret Loughman (Intel), Emma Murphy (Intel Scholar), Sally Al Mashadani (Intel Scholar), Mark Marca (Intel Scholar), Minister for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor, Viswanada Kaniappa Naicken (Intel Scholar), Muharram Bensaad (Intel Scholar), David Hurley (Intel Scholar) and Anne Marie Corry (Foundation).

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/researchandinnov/public_html/wp-content/themes/legatus-theme/includes/single/post-tags.php on line 5

About Author



Related Articles

Upcoming Events


The Magazine